In The Shadows

by DJ Silence

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

      name your price




'In the Shadows' is 5 tracks of raw, moody sample based beats that give a firm nod to the golden age of hip hop production whilst maintaining a progressive and contemporary sound. DJ Silence draws influences from artists as wide-ranging as Aesop Rock through to Bonnie Prince Billy. His diversity of taste is further reflected in the diversity of sounds he draws from to create the songs on “In The Shadows”. It is apparent at first listen that DJ Silence treats the sounds that he works with like oil paints or materials in a collage. Textures are layered and complex, arrangements provide contrast and clarity. Yet, throughout each song the musicality is always foreground. This, perhaps more than anything, explains why Silence has been able to attract such a broad range of talented vocalists to contribute lyrically to the album. In an age of knob twisting, filter sweeps and fidgety pitch shifting, DJ Silence rejects superficial technical trickery and delivers an album that simply nails the universal basics of rhythm, melody, composition and arrangement.


released June 21, 2014

All tracks produced by T. Ward
Lyrics written and performed by -
Track 1 - M. Hutchins
Track 2 - L. Rudeberg & N. Moon
Track 3 - B. Kruger & L. Ryan
Track 4 - T. Mathieson & A. Somerville
Track 5 - D.V. Smith & O. Fotu



all rights reserved


DJ Silence Perth, Australia

With a name to match his quiet demeanour, one could be mistaken for thinking that DJ Silence hasn't got much to say. The truth is, he mightn't talk much but his music speaks volumes. He is a focussed and critical producer of exceptional talent and, at various times, the man behind the decks for artists such as Empty, ASAP, Wisdom2th, DVS and FG ... more

contact / help

Contact DJ Silence

Streaming and
Download help